A mini celebration

It’s been a whole month since I set up this blog and over that time I’ve received just over 1000 views, which I think is pretty excellent, considering that I am an unknown. In addition, my posts have received more than a few positive comments, gratifyingly so, since I never know whether I am making any kind of sense or talking out of my arse (to use a quaint colloquialism). I genuinely thought that I wouldn’t still be here, even a month later. The fact that people are responding in such a way reinforces my decision to go ahead and start this little thing up.

I don’t want this to turn into some kind of faux acceptance speech, but there are a few people I would like to thank, principally Mark West who encouraged me  to blog in the first place. Thanks are also due to all those people who took the time to make comments. Also, thanks go to those who have just encouraged me generally: they are, in no particular order Simon Kurt Unsworth, Steve Duffy, Gary McMahon, Mark West, Allyson Bird and the First Hurdle Reading Crew. Last, but certainly not least, thanks to Liz, my wife.

As for the future, I have been promised an assortment of guest-blogs from a whole host of authors and others – they’ll be appearing occasionally, one or two a month, or when they get sent to me. I am also toying with the idea of writing a regular(ish) blog on classic genre paperback covers and, maybe, obscure genre writers of yesteryear. I am still considering writing on wines, but usually when I get inspired to write on them I have already consumed 3/4 of a bottle of something or other and therefore at the point where I start writing complete gibberish. Having said that, I still have a little wine left from yesterday’s celebrations so I might write something later about that – we’ll see.

Don’t worry guys, I wont be repeating this every time another month passes – just thought this particular milestone deserved a little mention. I might, however, have something to say if “Ramblings of a Tattooed Head” is still here in another eleven months. =)

4 Responses to “A mini celebration”

  1. Excellent!

    See, I told you it was a good idea!

  2. I take my hat off to you indeed, good sir!!

    Oh, and it looks like I’ll be coming to Leicester next month… =)

  3. simonkurtunsworth Says:

    You put Duffy in front of me! Our friendship is over! 🙂

    S

  4. GODDAMN!! There’s no pleasing some people…. LOLOLOL =D

Leave a Reply

