Interlude

Well, today I will be sending off the final bits and pieces of the first Spectral chapbook to Neil for the final layout and then, hopefully, I’ll be able to pass them on to the printers either at the end of this week or the beginning of next. This will be the bit where I become incredibly nervous, the part where I hope the product justifies the hype. I have put everything I have into this: I hope that the trust that all the authors have invested in me and the work put into putting it all together by Neil Williams is recompensed, not to mention those people who have kindly sent me subscriptions.

I suddenly woke up in the middle of the night when it really hit me that I am actually doing this, that what was just an abstract concept a few short months ago is becoming a reality within the next few weeks. That’s quite a scary, yet incredibly exhilarating, feeling – it’d be akin to seeing the film-script you wrote months back turned into a programme on the TV. Or the painting you’d created used as a book cover. It’s a completely indescribable emotion.

I’d like to think that Spectral Press will become a hallmark of excellence, the sort of imprint that authors would feel honoured to become a part of. I am very enthusiastic about its prospects, but I am also aware of just how much work is needed in order for it to get where I want it to go. I have plans for the future, but they’re entirely dependent on the success of this line of chapbooks. I am learning every day, but I certainly feel that I have brought together the right ingredients that’ll make the magic happen, but only time will tell, to use a cliché. I am quietly confident – once let Spectral fly, the it’ll in the lap of the gods, as they say.

(The picture above doesn’t really relate to anything I’ve written – it’s a frost-laden day here, with blue skies, bright sun, and bitterly cold…. and even the estate where I live can be vaguely described as picturesque because of it…)…

Leave a Reply

