Newsiness

Okay, having been away for a few days I now find that everything has slowed down a bit, so time to ramp it up again. First off, a book has just splattered itself all over the hall floor after being being delivered by a naturally cautious postman:

Snake Jaw, by Andrew Gallacher (LegumeMan Books)

Reading the synopsis, this looks set to be one mother of a weird and extremely unsettling story. Which is no bad thing in my view. I can now see why the postman was so careful in delivering it….

SPECTRAL PRESS

I am pleased to announce that the very first chapbook, Gary McMahon’s What They Hear in the Dark, is going to press next month, due to the response I have had from people with regard to the imprint. Certainly that response has taken me by surprise, so I feel that it’s only fair that I repay that trust by bringing the launch date forward (but without compromising the quality of production). More prosaically, I also want to avoid the VAT increase that comes into force in the New Year. Having said all that, copies won’t be available until January, although subscribers will get theirs as soon as the first chapbook is ready.

Talking of which, don’t forget, yearly subscriptions are available right now – you can pay through Paypal or you can now send me a cheque if you prefer. Each sub will cost £10UK/£12EU /$20US/ $25US RoW (all prices inclusive of postage and packing). Individual chapbooks will be available for £3.50UK/£4EU/$8US/$12RoW (again all prices inclusive of p+p). You can send remittances tospectralpress[at]gmail[dot]com – for details of how to pay by cheque, please send an email to the same address and I’ll get back to you forthwith.

As an incentive, if you do choose to subscribe before the end of this year (31st December 2010 closing date), your name will be entered into the prize-draw, where you’ll stand the chance of winning a specially signed and framed edition of  Gary McMahon’s chapbook. Alongside it will be a copy of the annotated manuscript, ie  Gary has scrawled all over it in his best red biro – he’s even signed it and ‘illuminated’ it with a little doodle of a smiley horned devil on it as well. The winner will even get a free subscription extension for another year on top of that… now that’s what I call a bargain! (Winner will be notified by mid-January)

OTHER STUFF

I am currently in the middle of two big jobs – scanning short stories for a retrospective collection, to be published early next year (not sure if I can say too much about it just yet…) and editing a novel for a client. I have to say that, despite the enormous amount of work involved, I am enjoying both immensely. For starters, with the scanning job I get to read the author’s work without having to hunt down all the books where they were published. With the other project, although I have edited short stories before, a novel is a different proposition and I’m finding the whole process utterly fascinating. Necessarily, the dynamics are different from a short story and the rhythms are slower. However, you get to feel the flow much earlier on, and in some respects your instincts as an editor kick in sooner and more strongly. Nevertheless, it’ll be interesting to see how the author feels about what I have suggested so far – let you know how it pans out!!

Leave a Reply

