Another book, and more news and some speculations…

This morning the postie had to knock on the door because the book that got sent to me probably because he thought it wouldn’t have fitted through the letterbox… certainly it’s a hefty tome:

The Demi-Monde: Winter, by Rod Rees (Quercus)

This is part one of a projected four-part fantasy/steampunk series, and this first volume is already 522 pages…. lovely cover too. I saw it advertised at FCon nearly a month ago and intrigued about it.

Yes, you guessed it, more Spectral gubbins….

I have been thinking seriously about bringing the launch of Spectral Press’ first chapbook, Gary McMahon’s What They Hear in the Dark, forward, as it’s more or less nearly complete in terms of being ready to be printed. I will be giving the manuscript a final line-edit this weekend, the finished artwork should be ready this weekend and all that really needs doing is for the whole thing to be compiled as a PDF file. Financing of the project is still being worked on (see below) and I am still looking at a 2011 launch. The question I find myself asking is when/where the earlier launch should be – any suggestions? Eastercon 2011 has been touted as a possibility, with an ‘official’ launch at FantasyCon 2011 in Brighton next September.

FOR SALE

Now, to help raise the funds for this project, I am currently looking at things to sell, and this is one of them. This is one of my original paintings, called ‘HiveThink’, and it can be yours for £250 or thereabouts. It’s airbrushed acrylic on canvas. Please let me know if you’re interested by contacting me at fracturedspaces@gmail.com, and then I will get back to you.

If you would like to commission a painting, then I am available to do that as well. Same procedure applies – send me an email and I’ll get back as soon as I can.

The subscription/competition idea is still going to be run. As a subscriber your name will be entered into a draw where you stand to win a signed, framed edition of the very first issue, along with an annotated and signed copy of the manuscript itself. You can ONLY win this prize if you become a subscriber.  Again, please email me for more details/expressions of interest.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

