And so it comes full circle…

Many years ago (around 1990), I used to run/edit a music fanzine called Fractured, devoted entirely to the then fledgling ‘industrial music’ scene. Then it truly was an ‘alternative’ music scene: people would look at you askance when you told them you were into ‘industrial’ music (what they thought you meant by that I can only imagine…). There weren’t many bands and projects around then: Current 93, Nurse With Wound, Psychic TV, Coil, Sol Invictus, Throbbing Gristle, Sleep Chamber, Controlled Bleeding, Attrition, to name only a few… the first three of those bands I mentioned, C93, NWW and Psychic TV, were the ones who actually got me into the whole scene in the first place (AND inspired me to publish a fanzine).

Having lived in a small Welsh town, getting to see any of these bands would have entailed mounting a major expedition to London, taking a day or two: unfortunately (and needless to say), I didn’t get to see any of them play (although I met both Tibet of C93 and Steve Stapleton of NWW through my contacts at Vinyl Experience in the Tottenham Court Road area). It is only now, 20 years later, that I am beginning to catch up with those bands still around from back then, the most recent of which is Sol Invictus.

Tomorrow night, though, I am off to see something that I thought would never happen: the two bands that started it for me, Current 93 and Nurse With Wound are playing on the same bill together at the HMV Forum, Kentish Town, and I am attending courtesy of a fellow Heathen Harvest journalist, Patrick ‘Paddy’ O’Sullivan. Admittedly, the music isn’t everyone’s cup of tea – nevertheless, these two outfits formed a major portion of my music tastes over the last 20/21 years. Now I feel that everything is coming full circle – they were good times back then which were interrupted by some truly bad ones, (including a stroke at the age of 34) and now, happily married and settled, those good times are back… so I suppose going to hear them play is the punctuation, the exclamation mark, to the circular narrative, started in 1990, that has taken 20 years to loop back on itself.

The future is indeed looking bright, on many fronts. =)

(I will be reviewing the gig on this page over the weekend…. )

One Response to “And so it comes full circle…”

  1. Terrific blog-post – nicely nostalgic, but also forward looking. I liked it. And you said you’d never have anything to write in here…

Leave a Reply

